What is the KNF?

The Circle of Dutch Film Journalists (in Dutch: ‘Kring van Nederlandse Filmjournalisten’) was established in 1982 as the foremost professional organisation for film journalists in the Netherlands. It promotes the rights and interests of Dutch film journalists and is the international spokesperson for professional film journalism in the Netherlands. The KNF also organizes juries at the two biggest film festivals in the Netherlands, the International Film Festival Rotterdam and the Netherlands Film Festival (‘Nederlands Film Festival’), awards the best graduation film at the Dutch Film Academy and coordinates the yearly overview of Films of the Year according to the Dutch film press. As the official Dutch section of FIPRESCI (the Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique / International Federation of Film Critics), it is responsible for the selection of Dutch members of national and international film juries.

Award Winners

International Film Festival Rotterdam: De Waarneming by Frank Scheffer
Dutch Film Academy: The Origin of Trouble by Tessa Pope
Netherlands Film Festival: A Strange Love Affair With Ego by Ester Gould
Film of the Year: ex aequo La La Land by Damien Chazelle and Toni Erdmann by Maren Ade; Dutch: Tonio by Paula van der Oest

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Key House Mirror (Nøgle hus spejl) by Michael Noer
Dutch Film Academy: Tarikat by Jasmijn Schrofer
Netherlands Film Festival: Tussen 10 en 12 by Peter Hoogendoorn
Film of the Year: Son of Saul by László Nemes; Dutch: Bloed, zweet & tranen by Diederick Koopal

International Film Festival Rotterdam: To Kill a Man (Matar a un hombre) by Alejandro Fernández Almendras
Dutch Film Academy: Fernweh by Ena Sendijarevic
Netherlands Film Festival: Jongens by Mischa Kamp
Film of the Year: Boyhood by Richard Linklater; Dutch: Aanmodderfakker by Michiel ten Horn

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Il futuro by Alicia Scherson
Dutch Film Academy: Een scout weet de weg by Sjoerd Niekamp
Netherlands Film Festival: De marathon by Diederick Koopal
Film of the Year: La grande bellezza by Paolo Sorrentino; Dutch: Borgman by Alex van Warmerdam

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Klip (Clip) by Maja Miloš
Dutch Film Academy: Magnesium by Sam de Jong
Netherlands Film Festival: Kauwboy by Boudewijn Koole
Film of the Year: Amour by Michael Haneke; Dutch: Kauwboy by Boudewijn Koole

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Winter Vacation by Li Hongqi
Netherlands Film Festival: Curaçao by Sander Snoep and Sarah Vos
Film of the Year: Drive by Nicolas Winding Refn; Dutch: Rabat by Jim Taihuttu and Victor Ponten

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Norteado (Northless) by Rigoberto Perezcano
Netherlands Film Festival: Schemer by Hanro Smitsman
Film of the Year: ex aequo Un prophète by Jacques Audiard and Toy Story 3 by Lee Unkrich; Dutch: Schemer by Hanro Smitsman

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Tony Manero by Pablo Larraín
Netherlands Film Festival: Boris Ryzhy by Aliona van der Horst
Film of the Year: Let the Right One in by Tomas Alfredson; Dutch: Kan door huid heen by Esther Rots

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Gruz 200 (Cargo 200) by Alexei Balabanov
Netherlands Film Festival: Calimucho by Eugenie Jansen
Film of the Year: The Dark Knight by Christopher Nolan; Dutch: Oorlogswinter by Martin Koolhoven

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Operation Filmmaker by Nina Davenport
Netherlands Film Festival: Tussenstand by Mijke de Jong
Film of the Year: Das Leben der Anderen by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck; Dutch: Alles is liefde Joram Lürsen

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Look Both Ways by Sarah Watt
Netherlands Film Festival: Forever by Heddy Honigmann
Film of the Year: Caché by Michael Haneke; Dutch: Nachtrit by Dana Nechushtan

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Illumination by Pascale Breton
Netherlands Film Festival: Guernsey by Nanouk Leopold
Film of the Year: Sin City by Robert Rodriquez and Frank Miller; Dutch: Guernsey by Nanouk Leopold

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Bu jian (The Missing) by Lee Kang-sheng
Netherlands Film Festival: Shouf shouf habibi! by Albert ter Heerdt
Film of the Year: Gegen die Wand by Fatih Akin; Dutch: Simon by Eddy Terstall

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Sud senaeha (Blissfully Yours) by Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Netherlands Film Festival: De arm van Jezus by André van der Hout
Film of the Year: Finding Nemo by Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich; Dutch: Cloaca by Willem van de Sande Bakhuyzen

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Bolivia by regie Adrián Caetano
Netherlands Film Festival: First Kill by Coco Schrijber

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Die Unberührbare by Oskar Roehler
Nederlands Film Festival: Familie by Willem van de Sande Bakhuyzen

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Odishon (Audition) by Takashi Miike
Netherlands Film Festival: Wilde mossels by Erik de Bruyn

International Film Festival Rotterdam: La vida es silbar by Fernando Pérez
Netherlands Film Festival: De Daltons by Rita Horst

International Film Festival Rotterdam: Gummo by Harmony Korine